Day 2: Stress Eating

Two days into this challenge and I’m already seriously testing my self control. Work today was rather strange/stressful and I’ve been torn between wanting a big ol’ drink and shoving several chocolate doughnuts in my mouth. Luckily, I did neither. I know that would have just stressed me out more since I’d be feeling some serious guilt right about now. Instead I just gnawed on some beef jerky (trust me, that primal flesh-ripping action is very satisfying) and talked to my mom.

If only I had a punching bag!

This is why you clean out your kitchen before starting an eating plan. There’s no carton of ice cream or bar of chocolate beckoning you to overindulge. Instead, you’re forced to stress-eat dried mangoes (seriously, chewy things help).

At least the day started well with a delicious breakfast:

Scrambled Eggs w/ Caramelized Onions, Cremini Mushrooms, Thyme, & Spinach

Scrambled Eggs w/ Caramelized Onions, Cremini Mushrooms, Thyme, & Spinach

I also treated myself to a cup of coffee with almond milk, cinnamon and cardamom. Also, a beautiful pink Cara Cara orange at lunchtime:

Aren't they pretty?

So pretty!

The truth is, no matter how great your diet is and no matter how great your body feels because of it, life can still take you be surprise. It can still be a bitch. If this happens when you’re on a diet, take it as an opportunity to find the things that cheer you up other than a handful of candy or a bag of potato chips. Focus on what you have rather than what you’re missing out on. Call up a friend, go for a walk, cook yourself a really awesome meal. Sorry for getting cheesy, but I’m trying to give myself a pep talk here as well! Stop moping about! You can do it!

Leave a Reply

