Days 8 & 9: Eat Your Vitamins

Most of my coworkers have gotten sick this week, one by one calling in to say they’re under the weather. Yesterday, there were just three of us left standing, and I was nervous. I felt a bit stuffed up and very lethargic. Was I coming down with the dreaded bug as well? I knew some soup was in order.

Luckily, I’ve had a butternut squash sitting on top of my refrigerator for over a month (that’s why I love squashes!), just waiting for such a purpose. Don’t you dare think soup is difficult to make. As I told my coworker today as she admired my leftovers at lunch, you can basically take any vegetable, saute it with some onions and garlic, add spices and chicken broth and puree. Ta-da! Soup!

I opted for a slightly spicy, velvety bowl of butternut soup to cure my potential cold. Loaded with vitamins and fiber, I hoped it would do the trick. Here’s what I did:

roast, saute, boil, blend!

roast, saute, boil, blend!

Gingery Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 tsp freshly grated ginger
  • 1 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/4 tsp dried sage
  • pinch of cayenne (optional, but spice is good for you!)
  • 3-4 cups chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup almond or coconut milk
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • olive oil, as needed

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Spread the squash on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and season liberally with salt and pepper. Toss with your hands to coat and spread the squash into a single layer. Roast in the oven until tender, about 15 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, heat a few tablespoons olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. When the oil is shimmering and hot, add the onions and saute, stirring occasionally, until softened and translucent. Add the garlic and spices with some salt and pepper and saute until fragrant.
  3. When the squash is tender, add to the pot with the onion and spices.
  4. Add enough chicken stock to cover the squash and bring to a boil. Remove from the heat and puree the mixture with either an immersion blender or in batches in a regular blender or food processor (be sure to open the top to let the steam out and be careful!).
  5. Once the soup is smooth, add the almond or coconut milk and more stock as needed to reach your desired consistency. Taste and adjust the seasoning as needed. Enjoy!

See? Easy. Feel free to garnish your delicious soup with some fresh chopped sage, toasted nuts, or, like I did, some chopped sausage. Yum!

Gingery Butternut Squash Soup

Gingery Butternut Squash Soup

And guess what? After a good night’s sleep, I woke up feeling A-OK! Which was a good thing since work was hectic and I was definitely needed there.

Even though it was a stressful day, I knew I had an easy job of preparing dinner when I got home. You see, like a good girl, I used that oven time yesterday to roast a spaghetti squash as well so I could come home today to make this Sausage Spaghetti Squash Bake. Yum!

sausage spaghetti squash bake

sausage spaghetti squash bake

Leave a Reply

