Days 13-18: Resources

Guess what? I’m roping ’em in, one at a time. There are four of us doing Whole30 at work now. I’ve won them over. And like I said, guys. I’m really not preaching this stuff. I’m not going around saying you must eat this way or else you’re killing yourself. I’m just telling people how good I feel, and they’re catching on.

I know I already went over ideas for stocking your pantry and preparing to start a paleo diet, but I thought I’d share some helpful tools and resources for those in the midst of it who may need them.

General Paleo Diet Information:

  • Whole9Life: these are the folks who started the Whole30 movement. The guidelines are on their site, along with success stories, articles, and forums to help answer any questions and concerns.
  • Mark’s Daily Apple: Mark Sisson is the author of The Primal Blueprint. His newsletter is always interesting and inspiring, so I recommend signing up!

Recipe Ideas:

  • PaleOMG: some very creative, user-friendly recipes. I’ve cooked quite a few of her recipes.
  • Eat Drink Paleo: lots of recipes, as well as links, blog posts, and an “Is It Paleo” widget.
  • Civilized Caveman: good variety, including lots of post-Whole30 treats 🙂
  • Pinterest: search and find anything you can think of!

Shopping:

  • Primal Pacs: Seattle company making some fantastic paleo beef jerky. Tender, well spiced, and very meaty. I recommend the jerky packs over the jerky/nut/fruit packs- more bang for your buck.
  • Steve’s Original: another paleo jerky company with lots of other paleo snack options such as granola, bars, and sauces. Their jerky is on the chewier and saltier side, but still good. I haven’t tried the other products yet.
  • Honeyville Grain: great prices on almond flour and coconut flour, necessary items for your paleo pantry!
  • U.S. Wellness Meats: I haven’t ordered from them yet, but if you don’t have any good local purveyors of pasture-raised meats, this is the place to order from.

I hope that helps!

In other news, here’s what I’ve been eating lately:

Spaghetti Squash with Marinara, Artichoke hearts, and Sausage

Spaghetti Squash w/ Marinara, Artichoke Hearts, &  Sausage

Tingly Pepper Beef w/ Spaghetti Squash & Shredded Lettuce, served w/ stir-fried Bok Choy

Tingly Pepper Beef w/ Spaghetti Squash & Shredded Lettuce, served w/ stir-fried Bok Choy (adapted from Rachael Ray)

Brunch today at Pambiche:

Bistec de Palomilla (Cuban steak & eggs w/ plantain mash)

Bistec de Palomilla (Cuban steak & eggs w/ plantain mash)

Yucca Fries!

Yucca Fries!

 

 

 

One thought on “Days 13-18: Resources

  1. I use Nut.com and love the Almond flour cookbook by Elana Amsterdam. I even found “Make it Paleo” by Staley and Mason at Costco!

Leave a Reply

