Days 19-21: This is Easy

I felt pretty awesome today when I realized I’d hit 21 days of Whole30 eating…and I barely noticed three weeks had passed! If you’re struggling right now, you probably don’t want to hear how easy breezy it’s feeling, and all I can say is stick with it! As I said in the beginning, I’ve completed a Whole30 challenge before, I’ve been eating a mostly paleo diet for several months, so this is really starting to become habit for me. A way of life.

It might surprise you, but one of my favorite things about eating this way is all the cooking I get to do. Without the option to pick up unhealthy take-out or heat up a frozen dinner in the microwave, I’m forced into the kitchen where I’m forced to get creative. Okay, I bought all these vegetables at the store, now what do I do with them? I say, be fearless. Try new spices, new cooking methods, new combinations. Roast some asparagus with garlic and lemon zest. Saute bok choy with chilies and ginger. Buy a different veggie every time you go grocery shopping and find out if you like it after you’ve actually tried it.

Tonight, I made something I like to call “cook all the vegetables in your fridge”, a.k.a. “hash”. First, I cooked up some chorizo, because everything is better with some fatty porkiness. Then into the drippings I added 1/2 of a red onion, sliced, 1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced, 1 zucchini, diced, 1/2 of a bell pepper, sliced, and about 1 pound of brussels sprouts, shredded. Salt, pepper, oregano, and paprika went in next. Everything gets sauteed until tender, the chorizo mixed in, then spread into a baking dish. I scrambled up 3 eggs, poured them over the hash, then baked the whole thing at 350 degrees until cooked through. Served with some sliced avocado, this was just what I needed to warm me up on a cold winter’s night.

Chorizo Hash

Chorizo Hash

 

One thought on “Days 19-21: This is Easy

Leave a Reply

